Best Tourist Season (October – February)
Airport: Nearest Airport is Agra 56 km
Railway: Bharatpur is linked by rail with Delhi, Kota, Sawai Madhopur and Udaipur
Road: Agra 55 km, Alwar 110 km, Ajmer 310 km, Delhi 184 km, Fatehpur Sikri 22 km, Jaipur 175 km, Madhogarh 165 km, Mathura 39 km, Ranthambhore 250 km, Sariska 145 km


Bharatpur – a city in the Rajasthan State, founded by Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733. Bharatpur is located in Mewat region, was once an impregnable, well fortified city, and the capital of kingdom ruled by Jat Moharajas.
Bharatpur is famous for its proximity to the Keoladeo Ghana Natinoal Park which has the largest concentration and variety of birdlife in Asia. This 29 sq km sanctuary is also known as Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary and the breeding ground for the rare Siberian Crane.

Bharatpur located at 27.22° N 77.48° E
Average elevation 183 mtrs (600 feet).

Bharatpur is 22 sq km

Summer maximum of 47°C and minimum 44°C
Winters maximum 32°C and minimum 22°C
Railfall 69 cm (annual)

Population 204,560 (as of 2001 India census)
Males 54%
Females 46%
Bharatpur has an average literacy rate of 66%, higher than the national average of 59.5%.
Male literacy is 75%, and female literacy is 56%.
In Bharatpur, 15% of the population is under 6 years of age.

Sightseeing in Bharatpur

Keoladeo National Park : Keoladeo National Park or Keoladeo Ghana National Park was known as Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary in Bharatpur, Rajasthan, India. Over 230 species of birds are know to be resident. In 1971, this Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary was declared a protected sanctuary and also a World Heritage Site. Keoladeo Ghana National Park is a man-made and man-managed wetland and one of the national parks of India. The 29 km reserve is locally known as Ghana, and is a mosaic of dry grasslands, woodlands, woodland swamps and wetlands. These diverse habitats are home to 366 birds species, 379 floral species, 50 species of fish, 13 species of snakes, 5 species of lizards, 7 amphibian species, 7 turtle species and a variety of other invertebrates. Every year thousands of migratory waterfowl visit the park for wintering and breeding.

Lohagarh Fort : This Fort was constructed by Bharatpur Jal Rulers Maharaja Suraj Mal. Lohagarh Fort is one of the strongest Fort ever built in Indian History. There are two gates in Lohagarh Fort, one in the north, known as Ashtdhaatu (eight metalled) gate while the one facing the south is called Chowburja (four-pillared) gate. Monuments in the fort include, Kishori Mahal, Mahal Khas, and Kothi Khas.

Government Museum : Goverment Museum Bharatpur was establised on 11 November 1944 in front of Bharatpur Lohagarh. There is a massive collection of antiquities of historic and artistic importance. There are several sculptures and artful slabs of stone related to Jainism, Shaivism, Vaishnavism, Shaktism and other sects in Archeology section of museum. These sculpture show the development of religion and Sculpture Art in this region. On the upper storey of Museum, various types of artifacts of local handicrafts and stuffed wild animals are also displayed. I arm section of this museum, many kinds of arms and armoury are displayed beautifully which were used by the Jat warriers and some were acquired from Britishers. These arms show the contemporary technique of War. Artistic work on the guns and swords is very attractive.

Besides the exhibited material in the galleries, the Darbar Hall, Choubhaga Chaman Bageechi, Kothi Khaas or Kamra Khaas, Wells, Tank, Fountains, Baradari of fifty six pillars (Chhappan Khambha) on the roof and bath of Indo-Irani style also known as ‘Persian Bath’ of Mughal Period (Hamam) are other main attractions of Government Museum Bharatpur.

Jawahar Burj : This victory tower was built by Maharajah Suraj Mal in 1765 to commemorate a victory over the Mughals. Worth a strll for the view from the top.

Deeg : Deeg – a town and a municipality in Bharatpur District in Rajasthan state, India. Deeg is situated in the north of Bharatpur.
According to Hindu mythology, Deeg comes under the Parikrama path of Lord Krishna, starting from Govardhan – which is just 12 km far from Deeg. Some identify it as the ancient town of “Dirgha” or “Dirghapur” mentioned in Skanda Purana. Deeg was the first capital of Bharatpur, when Badan Singh was proclaimed its ruler in 1722. Maharaja Suraj Mal erected a strong fortress of Deeg in 1730. Later Suraj Mal moved the capital to Bharatpur and Deeg becase the second capital of the rulers of Bharatpur princely state.

Maps Logo
call Logo
Whatsapp Logo

Quick Enquiry